Edited by Jörg Heiser,
Cristina Ricupero,
Gahee Park
Published by Sternberg Press
556 pages
17 x 23.5 cm
ISBN 978-3-95679-461-2

Price: 108 lei

Texts by Boris Groys, Mohammed Hanif, Heonik Kwon, Yongwoo Lee, Nina Power, Cristina Ricupero & Jörg Heiser, Mitch Speed, Hito Steyerl, Young-jun Tak, Wladimir Velminski

With the title Divided We Stand, the theme of the Busan Biennale 2018 in South Korea was on divided territories, reflected in the work of artists from around the world. What can be seen is not only that nations torn apart—also regions formerly joined by ethnicity—through war, colonization, and hostile estrangement, but also, and quite importantly, the psyche is also divided.

We asked ourselves: What sorts of sentiments and types of conditioning does the splitting of territories induce in people’s minds, in a general sense, and specifically in the minds of artists? That question can be asked vice versa, what kinds of mindsets induce the splitting in the first place?

Artists: Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Bani Abidi, Chantal Akerman, Dora Longo Bahia, Maja Bajević, Khaled Barakeh, Yael Bartana, Jean-Luc Blanc, Oscar Chan Yik Long, Onejoon Che, Mina Cheon, Chin Cheng-Te, Sunah Choi, Phil Collins, Christoph Dettmeier, Dias & Riedweg, Smadar Dreyfus, Eva Grubinger, Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige, Ramin & Rokni Haerizadeh and Hesam Rahmanian, Flaka Haliti, Andy Hope 1930, Hsu Chia-Wei, Im Youngzoo, Joo Hwang, Yunsun Jung, Nikita Kadan, Wanuri Kahiu, Amar Kanwar, Kiluanji Kia Henda, Hayoun Kwon, Oliver Laric, Minwhee Lee & Yun Choi, Gabriel Lester and Jonas Lund, Minouk Lim, Laura Lima & Zé Carlos Garcia, Lin + Lam, Liu Ding, Dora Longo Bahia, Marko Lulić, Fabian Marti, Truwant + Rodet and Eun Kyung Park, Augustin Maurs, Metahaven, Nástio Mosquito, Henrike Naumann, Marcel Odenbach, Melik Ohanian, Ferhat Özgür, Kelvin Kyung Kun Park, Susan Philipsz, Adrian Piper, Min Jeong Seo, Bruno Serralongue, Tayfun Serttas, Hito Steyerl, Jan Svenungsson, Yuichiro Tamura, Javier Téllez, The Propeller Group, Suzanne Treister, Lars von Trier, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Jane & Louise Wilson, Ming Wong, Ulrich Wüst, Yoo Yeun Bok & Kim Yongtae, Zhang Peili