Published by
Sonic Acts Press
212 pages
17 x 24 cm
ISBN 9789082321630

Price: 105 lei

What does it mean to be human, to be part of a world that is an ever-changing network? Published on the occasion of the 2017 Sonic Acts Festival, this book endeavours to piece together the dissonance produced by the participants and spectators of the festival, whether at the conference or in the museums, clubs, and cinemas. This is the noise of technology, capitalism, hackers, bots, communication breakdowns, humanity, clouds, and so much more. With essays by Nina Power, Louis Henderson, Daniel Rourke, and Rick Dolphijn, interviews with Ytasha Womack, Jennifer Gabrys, Eyal Weizman, and Metahaven, plus contributions by Joey Holder, Ingrid Burrington, and more.

Table of Contents:,br/>
9 The Noise is Here to Stay
13 Anticapitalism, Postcapitalism, Decapitalism by Nina Power
33 Everything is Experiencing Interview with Jennifer Gabrys by Arie Altena
49 Animism is the Only Sensible Version of Materialism by Louis Henderson
59 Afrofuturism – Other Ways of Navigating the World that Facilitate Resilience Interview with Ytasha Womack by Arie Altena
69 An Ontology of Every Thing on the Face of the Earth by Daniel Rourke
87 The Cracks of the Contemporary – The Wound by Rick Dolphijn
99 Ophiux by Joey Holder
113 Characters in a Drama Called Big Data Interview with Wendy Hui Kyong Chun by Rosa Menkman
127 We Are All in the Mud Interview with Eyal Weizman by Lucas van der Velden
143 By Any Lens Necessary – A Satellite Image Account of Conflict by Jamon van den Hoek
151 Forever Noon on a Cloudless Day by Ingrid Burrington
159 The Making of Metahaven Interview with Metahaven by Juha van ‘t Zelfde
169 Impressions from the 2017 Sonic Acts Festival – The Noise of Being
195 Human Fossils by The Rodina